SteveInDisneyland

Oscar Nominees 2010: Inception

In award movies, Christopher Nolan films, films, reviews, science fiction films on July 17, 2010 at 11:24 am

I’m sure that you might assume that I only know of Christopher Nolan through his two Batman movies. You would be wrong. I saw “Memento” in theaters after hearing some positive buzz about it and was blown away. I’ve seen all of his films, with the exception of “Following,” which I intend to watch soon. While each film has been a different experience for me, I have enjoyed them all on some level. Writing about my experience with “Inception” may mean that my thoughts get lost in the shuffle, what with the inevitable deluge of reviews and comments that already have been and have yet to be posted all over the internet. I don’t care. Being that I don’t have a large following, I don’t think it matters. Besides, I need to get my initial reaction down before I forget some of it.

I’m going to keep the spoilers to a bare minimum. I think that the best way to enjoy this movie is to go in knowing as little as possible. I tried to avoid details and I’m now glad I did.

The movie centers around Dom Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio), a thief of sorts. Cobb invades people’s dreams and steals their secrets. He is assisted by Arthur (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), who seems to try his best to serve as a conscience for Cobb. Ariadne (Ellen Page) also plays a role on Cobb’s team as a sort of builder/manipulator of the dreams. These three characters serve as the main players in this trippy action thriller wrapped in a world of unreality. Marion Cotillard is chilling as Cobb’s wife, Mal, who haunts his every step, both in dreams and in waking life. Cillian Murphy is appropriately distant as the target of their “big” job, an heir to a large fortune, and Tom Hardy is quite memorable and charismatic as Eames, the team’s “forger.” The ensemble of actors seem to have a great chemistry and play off of each other very well. They each commit fully to their characters, so much so that it’s easy to forget that you’re watching famous actors. Each player seems to know their part in the larger puzzle, and each of them plays accordingly. Their focus as a group, as well as individually, helps to infuse Nolan’s multidirectional script with energy and urgency.

Watching this film, I was never quite able to predict how the story was going to unfold. The level of thought that Nolan has invested in crafting this tale is quite impressive. There are layers, and at times the layers have their own layers. This is true in so many ways. The viewer needs to stay invested in the plot to really appreciate this. It’s rare for a single film to display such a prolific amount of creativity.

Visually, as with all of Nolan’s previous efforts, “Inception” is a wonder to behold. Wally Pfister, Nolan’s go-to cinematographer, once again shows his knack for capturing beautiful images, especially on visually lavish set pieces such as the ones in the pulse-pounding climax. These images are complimented by Hans Zimmer’s score, which is more cacophonous than symphonic; maybe it’s better to say that the score is more textured than melodic. Appropriately so, as it enhances a certain mood which is prevalent in Nolan’s dreamscapes, and it helps to elevate the already ridiculous amount of tension as the film roars toward its ending.

“Inception” is, on one level, a superb action film. The grand sets and unusual effects are hugely impressive and visually stimulating in ways I did not expect. The action scenes are well-paced and generally avoid looking or feeling like anything that has come before. The length did not feel obvious because the movie held my attention more completely than any other movie so far this year.

Upon further reflection, I feel that “Inception” is challenging its viewers to look closer. Some of the issues that Cobb grappled with made me ask myself if my dreams are trying to tell me something, and if so, what that something might be. Am I denying myself a deep truth in order to cope with my life? Dreams are mysterious and elusive. I’ve always had an interest in dreams, in terms of what they mean and how they work. “Inception” uses devices and aspects of real dreams to frame its dreamworld. The dreaming world that these characters inhabit is not a free-for-all, anything-can-happen excuse to do anything and everything, i. e. “The Matrix.” Nolan establishes certain rules and sticks to them. He never uses a cheap twist to manipulate the plot, but it does manage to leave its entire story open for some questions for the viewer to interpret for her/himself, and the manner in which it does this is bound to be dubbed a ‘twist’ by many. I feel strongly that it is not that at all; rather, it’s a bold decision to leave the ultimate realization up to each viewer. I have heard many people offer their own theories as to what is implied by the final shot. I encourage you to make up your own mind and stick to it.

The criticism I have heard most often of this movie is that it doesn’t engage emotionally. I feel like that the perceived disconnect is intentional, as one might not feel emotion as deeply in certain dream states. On the other hand, I did find a few moments to be genuinely heartfelt. I think that opinion will be divided sharply on “Inception.” It will either completely grab your attention or never quite engage you. I hope it’s the former. Keep your eye on the top.

Leave a comment